Skip To Main Content

Alabama School Bus Law

The information in this School Bus Safety flyer is included in the text on the website


Alabama law forbids drivers from passing a stopped school - or church - bus in almost every case. Drivers must remain stopped until the bus resumes motion.

  • Drivers are required to stop when meeting or following a school bus stopped on a two-lane road or four to six lane undivided highway.
  • Drivers aren't required to stop on a divided highway having four or more lanes if two of the lanes allow for traffic to flow in the other direction.

Simply put - if it's a highway divided only by a turn lane or no other barrier, traffic in both directions must stop.

If it's a four or six-lane highway with a barrier or unpaved area between the directional lanes, cars approaching the bus in the opposite direction aren't required to stop but are advised to use caution.


  • First offense for illegally passing a stopped bus is $150 to $300 for first offense.
  • Second offense could result in a fine of $300 to $500 and suspension of driver's license for 30 days and 100 hours of community service.
  • Third offense could result in fine of up to $1,000, license suspension of 90 days and 200 hours of community service.
  • Fourth offense is a felony, punishable by a fine of up to $3,000 and a one-year license suspension.