Skip To Main Content

Board of Education

About the Board

The Madison County Board of Education has five members, elected by district, by the citizens of the county to be legally responsible for making education available to all students within this district.

The Board of Education is a policy-making body that functions only in official meetings. Policies are carried out by an administrative staff under the directions of the Superintendent of Schools, the chief executive officer of the district.  Regular meetings are scheduled on the third Thursday of each month. The meetings are usually held at 5:30 p.m. at the Madison County Board of Education located at 1275 Jordan Road. Special meetings may be called as needed. Work sessions are generally scheduled for the first Tuesday of each month.

The public is welcome to attend all Board of Education meetings. Those who wish to make presentations to the Board are asked to write the Office of the Superintendent, Madison County Board of Education, P.O. Box 226, Huntsville, Alabama 35804, at least three days prior to the meeting.

Official minutes of the Board meetings, which are available to the public, are kept on file in the Office of the Superintendent.  Board Members share a commitment to continued school improvement for the students in this system.


image of board of education members


Board Members:
District 1- Nathan Curry (Hazel Green Area)  

District 2- Angie Bates (Buckhorn Area) 

District 3- Brian Brooks (Madison Co HS/ New Hope HS Areas)  

District 4- Heath Jones (Sparkman MS/Sparkman HS Areas) 

District 5- William Byrd (Monrovia MS/Sparkman HS Areas) 

Board Meetings

There are no events to display